About us

The Antikenmuseum Basel and Sammlung Ludwig presents 5000 years of culture from the Mediterranean world. Egypt, the Near East, Greece and Italy from 4000 BC to AD 400 form the focus of our outstanding collection.

We see the ancient world as the foundation and inspiration for the present-day. In our special exhibitions and programmes, ancient civilisations come to life. In dialogue with our visitors, we make connections across epochs and cultures. Our museum is a service-oriented platform – open to partnerships of all kinds.

You will find the Antikenmuseum Basel and the Sammlung Ludwig in Basel’s city centre, while our second site, the Skulpturhalle Basel, is close to Basel University. We look forward to welcoming you to our collections, exhibitions and bistro. 

Annual report 2016

Video English

Über uns

Das Antikenmuseum Basel und Sammlung Ludwig präsentiert 5000 Jahre Kultur aus dem Mittelmeerraum. Ägypten, der Vordere Orient, Griechenland und Italien von 4000 v. Chr. bis 400 n. Chr. bilden die Schwerpunkte unserer herausragenden Sammlung.

Wir verstehen die Antike als Fundament und Anregung für die Gegenwart. In unseren Sonderausstellungen und Programmen werden die antiken Kulturen lebendig. Im Dialog mit unseren Gästen schaffen wir Verbindungen über Epochen und Kulturen hinweg. Unser Museum ist eine dienstleistungsorientierte Plattform –  offen für Partnerschaften aller Art.

Das Antikenmuseum Basel und Sammlung Ludwig finden Sie in der Basler Innenstadt und an seinem zweiten Standort «Skulpturhalle Basel» in der Nähe der Universität Basel. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch in unseren Sammlungen, Ausstellungen oder im Bistro.

Video Deutsch

Video Englisch